12 March 2015 No Comments by The Northern Standard

On Sunday last 08th March Glaslough Harriers hosted their annual road races.

After a shaky start the weather played its part in helping to make the event a great success and enjoyable day was had by all. There was a fantastic turnout both for junior and senior races. For some of our younger athletes who train in the Oakland Centre this was their first road race and they did themselves and their coaches proud. The special needs race was won by our very own Padraig Kelly followed by John Molloy.

Our juvenile race winners are as follows.

U8 Girls Lindsey Kelly, Ava Kelly and Caoimhe Farmer.

U8 Boys Eoghan McCaul, Michael Moore and Mark Lynch.

U10 Girls Laura McFarland, Amy Jo Kieran and Clodagh Meely.

U10 Boys Mathew Finn, Caolan McFadden and Caolan Curran.

U12 Girls Olivia, Rachel Callery and Aoife Fox.

U12 Boys Oisin Kelly, Eoghan McFarland and Luke Cawley.

U14 Girls Abbie Sheridan, Molly Trearty and Caitlin Coffey.

U14 Boys Liam McKenna, Mackin McGarvey and Liam Conway.

U16 Girls Karen Gallagher, Laura Graham and Sorcha O’Neill.

U16 Boys Conor Maguire, Oisin Fagan and Andrew McKenna.

We had another great turnout for our annual 5k with many of our Operation Glasformation members running their first 5k road race. The Jolly Joggers participated in a 3k walk to remember the late Kieran McAree.

Our road race was won by our very own Conor Duffy in a time of 15.25, followed by Paul Gleeson Clones AC and Shane Brady Clones AC.

The ladies race was won by Rebecca Murtagh Drumore AC in a time of 18.10,

followed by Anne Linden Carrick Aces and Donna Evana Finn Valley.

Junior Mens winner was Sean Hubbard Monaghan Phoenix, followed by Colm Kirke Clones AC and Paul Peppard Monaghan Phoenix.

Juniors Ladies winner was Daire McCartan Beechmount followed by Rioghach Courtney Beechmount and Niamh Malone Monaghan Phoenix.

Ladies Over 35 was won by Emer McKenna Monaghan Phoenix followed by Jennifer Treanor and Bernie McAdam Clones AC.

Ladies Over 45 was won by Rosanne Lamb Carrick Aces followed by Bridie Treaty Cranford AC and Angela Kerr Armagh AC.

Mens Over 40 was won by Paul Blayney Beechmount followed by Michael Magee Beechmount and Gordon McArdle Blaney Rockets.

Mens Over 50 was won by Dermot Kerr Armagh AC followed by George Sheridan North East Runners and John Joe Roger Shercock AC.

Mens Senior Team Winners

1) Clones AC

2) Glaslough Harriers

Ladies Senior Team Winners

1) Carrick Aces

2) Glaslough Harriers

Junior Mens Team Winners

1) Monaghan Phoenix

Junior Ladies Team Winners

1) Beechmount

2) Glaslough Harriers

Cup Winners are as follows.

John Curley Cup – Conor Duffy

John Reilly Cup – Clones AC

Felix Sherry Cup-Rebecca Murtagh

Peter Pritchard Cup – Rachel Callery

Phelim McQuaid Cup – Luke Cawley

Deirdre Duffy Trophy- Ava Ross

Pat McKenna Cup – Liam Mc Kenna

Ken Kennedy plaque – Carrick Aces

Noel Comiskey Cup – Monaghan Phoenix

Sir Shane Leslie Cup – Glaslough Harriers

Gene Connolly Cup – Sean Husband

Novice Cup – Emer Mc Kenna

Glaslough Harriers would like to thank everyone who has helped to make our road race a great success. We would also like to thank the following clubs for supporting our races.

Cranford AC, Beechmount AC, Dromore AC, Shercock AC, Monaghan Phoenix, Monaghan Town Runners, Armagh AC, 3 Ways, Carrick Aces, Oriel AC, Finn Valley, Carmen Runners, Blaney Rockets, North East Runners. Emyvale GFC, alar agh AC, She’d a load in Ballinode, Ballybay Wetlands, Clones AC.

Glaslough Harriers Road Races.16

no images were found

Comments are closed.