19 July 2019 No Comments by The Northern Standard

Michael Fisher

Monaghan Minors GAA football team has made history by winning the Ulster minor title back to back for the first time since 1940. The county won the Ulster minor championship for the first time in 1939. At its meeting on Monday, Ballybay Clones Municipal District passed a vote of congratulations to the players and the management team led by Mark Counihan. It was proposed by Cllr Seamus Coyle (FF) and seconded by Cllr Sean Gilliland (FG). Seamus Coyle, who is Cathaoirleach of Monaghan County Council, attended the match at the Athletic Grounds in Armagh, where Monaghan defeated Tyrone by two points, 1- 13 to 1-11.

Cllr Coyle said afterwards: “Congratulations to the players and management team of the 2019 Monaghan Ulster Minor Championship winning team; a brilliant performance by all involved on a memorable day for Monaghan foootball in the Athletic Grounds, Armagh, as an eighty year gap was bridged for Monaghan with back-to-back Ulster Minor Championship title wins. It was a very proud moment for Monaghan people at home and abroad as Jason Irwin lifted high the Fr Murray Cup, and Monaghan were crowned the 2019 Electric Ireland Ulster Minor Champions.”

Cllr Coyle added: “I want to give a particular mention to the Latton representatives….

Comments are closed.