27 January 2018 No Comments by The Northern Standard

There was standing room only at the 4 Seasons Hotel last Friday night as the great and the good were acknowledged for their excellence, both on the field of play and at administrative level, in the GAA in Monaghan during 2017.

In welcoming the guests to the Annual Awards function County chairman Michael McMahon said that “a night like this is a time for reflection and recognition” as he extended a special welcome to the representative of New York GAA, Tony McKenna, the players and the greats from the past, the awards winners, Cathal Smyth, representing the sponsors, The Northern Standard and R&S Printers, as the other team sponsors who were present, along with a special word of welcome for the representatives of the various branches of the media in the County and he complimented them for the work they do in providing extensive coverage of GAA affairs.

Grainne McElwaine, TG4, was a very capable Bean a Ti and following a sumptuous meal she kept proceedings moving along but still allowing time for a number of interviews with selected award winners. Musical entertainment was provided by the Latton Scorn a nOG winning instrumental group. Following the individual player awards (detailed elsewhere in the sports section), the other various awards were handed out.

It was announced that the 2017 Senior Club Official award winner was Patricia Smith, (Killeevan). Patricia was described as a devoted Killeevan club member who has held many positions on the Killeevan Executive for some 16 years and is now entering her 14th year as club secretary. As well as her club duties Patricia is also an esteemed and highly respected worker within Monaghan GAA sitting on a number of committees as well as helping out at championship gates.

Another popular winner on the night was Juvenile Club Official of the Year, Donal McAdam, (Drumhowan). Donal served Drumhowan for many years as a player, then moving to managing them to an Ulster Junior title. He has also served as….

HALL OF FAME: Pictured is Ian Brady who received the Award on behalf of his father, Brendan Brady, Cathal Smyth (Sponsor), Kevin Treanor, Paddy Kerry, Michael Owen McMahon (Co. Chairman) and Gerry McCarville. © Northern Standard

Comments are closed.