27 November 2015 No Comments by The Northern Standard

Danske Bank Ulster Colleges Edmund Rice Rannafast Cup Final

Patrician 1-18

St Macartan’s 2-06

Patrician High School, Carrickmacross won the Danske Bank Ulster Colleges Rannafast Cup for the first time since 2000 in some style in this all-Monaghan final at Inniskeen last Friday night.

St. Macartan’s College went into this much-anticipated clash with their county rivals as defending champions, but they were put to the sword by an impressive performance from the High School in front of a large crowd who braved the bitterly cold conditions.

Andrew Woods, Seán Burns and Jack McMahon hit 1-14 between them for Patrician, who led from start to finish as they won this title for the second time. Patrician, who had turned over a highly-rated St. Patrick’s, Maghera team at the semi-final stage, could even afford to concede two goals inside the last five minutes and still end up with nine points to spare. Ciarán McNulty, Liam Óg Murray, Oisín Wilcox and Seamus Kindlon also played key roles for the winners.

Patrician got off to a flying start, as Andrew Woods opened the scoring for from a 30-metre free after a foul on Jack McMahon and he soon added a fine point from play. Woods then tapped over a 13-metre free for a foul on Oisín Wilcox, who made it four on the trot for the High School on eight minutes.

The Sem finally got off the mark with a 13th-minute point by Robbie McAlister, after…




Comments are closed.