28 November 2014 No Comments by The Northern Standard

St Macartan’s      1-11

St Mary’s                 1-06


St. Macartan’s College ended a 37-year wait when they won the Rannafast Cup Final against St. Mary’s, Magherafelt last Friday night.

This final, played at the Queen’s University Dub Arena, which was in immaculate condition despite constant rain, saw the Sem dominate and run out fully deserving winners, with eight players getting on the scoresheet.

The Monaghan team should have been ahead at half-time even after playing against the wind and they took charge after the restart to end up not in the least flattered by their five-point winning margin.

The Sem’s main marksman on their way to the final, Michael Savage, didn’t score, but he played a part in a number of scores, particularly when left in the full-forward line, while Ryan Mohan, Pádraig Finnan, Kalum McKenna, Robbie McAlister and Dean McGuigan were among those to play key roles.

Giuseppe Lupari and Kevin Small were best for St. Mary’s and were their only two players to get on the scoresheet.

The Sem made a dream start, as Michael Savage took his man on and sent the ball invitingly across goal for Dean Brennan to flick to the net, with just 18 seconds gone.

Kevin Small got Magherafelt off the mark from a 30-metre free after a foul on Cathal Donnelly, but Kalum McKenna fired just over for the Sem, following more good work by Savage.

Dean McGuigan kicked a point at the end of a patient Sem move and they almost had a second goal when McKenna had a shot turned around the post by Magherafelt keeper Ciarán Quigley.

A good point by Giuseppe Lupari kept St. Mary’s in touch and although McGuigan tapped over a 20-metre free for a foul on Pádraig Meehan, it was game on when a sideline kick fell for Lupari, who drove a low shot….



Comments are closed.