9 May 2014 No Comments by The Northern Standard

Truagh Gaels marked the most successful year in their history with a banquet in the Hillgrove Hotel last Sunday night.

Close to 700 people were in the Monaghan-town hotel for the big night, where Truagh honoured their Monaghan, Ulster and All-Ireland Intermediate Football Championship winners, as well as the reserve and Under-21 teams from the north-Monaghan club who lifted silverware in 2013.

The GAA’s President-Elect Aogán Ó Fearghail, Monaghan County Board Vice-Chairman Michael Owen McMahon and Truagh’s own chairman Raymond Treanor made the presentations of the medals and the club’s Player-of-the Year awards, which went to John McCarron (senior), Paudie McKenna (Under-21), Daniel Finnegan and Martin Treanor (reserves), Kian McKenna (minor), Kieran McKenna (senior hurling), Noel Flood (minor hurling), Caoimhe Mohan (senior ladies), Rachael McKenna (reserve ladies) and Bríd Treanor (camogie).

Awards were also given to Truagh’s county title-winning Scór participants. Northern Sound’s Seán McCaffrey was MC on the night, while Peter Keenan recited a poem about Truagh’s historic year and President-Elect Ó Fearghail also addressed the big crowd, congratulating everyone involved and also commending the club on the facilities at St. Mellan’s Park.

no images were found

Comments are closed.