18 April 2013 No Comments by The Northern Standard

All roads lead to Monaghan this coming weekend as Monaghan Motor Club host their biggest sporting event of the calendar. With a bumper entry and no stone left unturned by the organisers this event is sure to live up to its billing as one of the top stages events of the rally season.

A full entry of 141 cars will cross the start ramp at 9.20am Sunday morning to tackle the three stages which cover the general Northeast area of Monaghan, circling Castleshane, Glaslough, Emyvale and Tydavnet and back towards Monaghan where service is located in the main car park behind Flemings.

Last years winner Daniel McKenna will lead off a fantastic field of some of the top cars in the country, including seven WRC spec cars with Donegal cousins Declan and Brian Boyle seeded at number two. Niall Maguire and Enda Sherry are seeded 3, Donagh Kelly 4 and Darren Gass 5, all in Subaru’s. Group N class is sure to be a battle royale through the Monaghan countryside with top four seeds all from Monaghan. Sam Moffett and James O’Reilly head the quartet at 12, Josh Moffett/James Rowan 14, Shane Maguire/Martin McGarrity 15 and Stephen and Suzanne Wright at 16.

The two wheel drive honours is highly sought after in Monaghan as last years winner Daniel McKenna with Stephen Hagan on the notes this year will once again be in the melting pot with Gary McPhillips/Mark Tierney seeded 7, James Stafford in the infamous Darrian at 8, Frank Kelly 9 with Rodney Wilton, Jim Mc Kenna, Pat Donegan and Brian Brogan to name a few in class 14 all fighting for class honours. Kieran “Bilko” McCarra will head the class 13 field following on from his fantastic results last year and is seeded 21. Midlands stages winners, Chris Armstrong/Tom Clinton are 22, Cavan’s Jonathan Pringle/Martin Byrne 23 and Russell Woods 24 with Paddy Kiernan/James McCarville sure to be up for class honours seeded 28. Another few local crews sure to be in with a shout in class 13 include Raymond Conlon/Darren McCague and Richard Moffett/Martin Connolly in the starlet.

Double border rally champions Arthur and Mac Kierans lead out the class 12 brigade with Enda Haran/Patrick Corcoran in the twin cam seeded at 43 sure to keep the Aghabog duo on their …

Comments are closed.