14 January 2011 No Comments by The Northern Standard

The great and the good associated with Monaghan GAA will be present at the Hillgrove Hotel, Monaghan town on Saturday night, January 22nd for what should prove to be another star-spangled Annual Awards night jointly sponsored by the Northern Standard and R&S Printers.
The night will showcase the array of Gaelic games talent who plied their skills in county Monaghan during 2010 as well as reflecting on the exploits of some of the stars from the past. In that latter regard, the members of the 1985 National Football League and Ulster Senior Football Championship title-winning squad will be afforded the honour of being special guests on the night. On a night when the collective as well as the individual will be honoured, presentations will be the operative word with a whole host of well-known people from the codes of Gaelic football, hurling and handball on the receiving end. A Player of the Year award is a much cherished accolade and such an award is highly valued by club players across the county.
Last year, Clontibret and county star Conor McManus bagged the Senior Player of the Year award. His successor in 2010 is the highly-rated Gavin Doogan from the Magheracloone club.
Doohamlet’s magnificent exploits in the Ulster IFC is recognised in the shape of the Intermediate Player of the Year award which goes to Ciaran McManus.
Similarily, Corduff’s excellent run in the Ulster JFC is mirrored by the fact that the the 2010 Junior Footballer of the Year award winner is Declan Larkin.
Other award winners for 2010 include Colin Walshe (Doohamlet), selected as the Young Footballer of the Year.
Not suprisingly, the all-conquering Inniskeen club has dominated the hurling awards with the Senior Hurler of the Year award going to Seamus Loftus while the 2010 Young Hurler of the Year award winner will be picked up by his fellow clubman Martin Murphy.
One of the longest-serving clubmen will be rightly honoured when Carl Laverty (Oram) receives the Senior Club Official of the Year award for 2010 after giving the mid-county club 50 years service.
Scotstown’s terrific year at underage level is reflected in the fact that clubman Dermot Maguire receives the Youth Official of the Year award.
The rise and rise in the profile of Monaghan handball was reflected in the list of candidates vying for the Handballer of the Year award but Terry Kiernan was a worthy recipient in the end.
The game of camogie enjoyed a big lift in the county over the past year and Shauna Finnegan from the Clontibret club has been selected as their stand out performer and duly receives the Player of the Year award for 2010.
Ladies Football awards have always been to the fore at the Annual Awards night and Latton lady Lavina Connolly will take centre stage for the ladies when she picks up the Ladies Footballer of the Year award.
One of the most interesting awards presented each year is the Hall of Fame award and this year we have joint winners with Benny Mone (Clontibret) and Jim O’Hanlon (Ballybay) taking the spoils.
Meanwhile the Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Liam McGrath (Castleblayney Faughs).
Scotstown’s re-emergence as a bone fide force at senior level and their prolific success at underage level in 2010 merits the selectors decision to present them with the Club of the Year award.
In other awards, Killanny’s ultra-impressive work at juvenile level over the course of the past 12 months in particular is reflected in the Farneysiders’ receipt of the Youth Achievement Award (Football).
Castleblayney Hurling Club, long-time standard bearers of the small game in county Monaghan, receive the corresponding award in hurling.
One of the more intriguing awards each year is the Monaghan GAA Supporters Club Player of the Year. For 2010, Currin and county collossus Dick Clerkin gets the nod.
Apart from the aforementioned ’85 squad, two other teams are honoured for their achievements.
The 2010 Monaghan hurlers will deservedly be honoured for their triumph in the National Hurling League Division Four campaign.
Meanwhile the Monaghan VEC football crew who scooped the county’s third consecutive Ulster title last year will be feted.
Outgoing county team-managers Seamus McEnaney (senior) and Bernie Murray (minor) are also to be honoured for their efforts in 2010.
Guests of honour on the night will be recently installed Bishop of Clogher, the Most Reverend Liam McDaid; Paraic Duffy, Director General of the GAA and retired RTE commentator Micheal Muircheartaigh.
Drumhowan’s Tommy McArdle will be making his imitable contribution to proceedings.
Organised by the social sub-committee of the county board – under the chairmanship of Seamus McElwaine – the awards night gets underway at 7.30pm sharp with dinner after which the formalities will take place.
MC on the night will be Ms. Grainne McElwaine, a native of Scotstown who is a well known freelance sports programme producer and presenter who regularly appears on TG4.

Comments are closed.