Busy night in prospect at Convention

3 December 2010 No Comments by The Northern Standard

Convention 2010 saw major changes to the County Committee and this year could be similarly eventful, writes COLM SHALVEY

With the on-field action almost finished for 2010 (well, as soon as the snow thaws enough for the remaining few games to be played), attention is set to turn to matters away from the pitch, with County Convention 2011 going ahead next Thursday (December 9). The annual Convention offers a chance to look back at the year gone by and look forward to next year.

On the playing front, this year saw the Monaghan senior footballers maintain their Division One status in the National Football League, before reaching the Ulster SFC Final, while the senior hurlers won the National Hurling League Division Four; finally securing promotion to Division Three B. The Under-21 footballers won the Shamrock Cup and the vocational-schools county team won their third successive Ulster title en route to an All-Ireland final defeat against Cork. There were football championship successes for Clontibret, Doohamlet and Corduff, with the latter two going on to qualify for the Ulster club finals, while Inniskeen took a clean sweep of the senior hurling titles, adding an Ulster JHC to their honours.

Of course, Convention also brings the yearly election of officers to the county board, with this year seeing a number of positions likely to be contested. Last year’s convention was a busy one on the election front, with several changes to the county executive being made and this year could be similarly eventful.
The post of Chairman is to be contested for the second year in a row, where current incumbent Paul Curran from Clontibret faces a challenge from outgoing Ulster Council delegate John P Graham (Killeevan). Curran has just completed his first year in the chair, after he won a big victory at the 2010 convention to take over from the outgoing John Connolly.
There is also a contest for Secretary, where Seán McKenna and Ailish McEntee go head-to-head for the third year in a row. McEntee from the Seán McDermotts club edged McKenna out two years ago, but Monaghan Harps clubman McKenna overturned the result last year.

With Seán Murphy of Scotstown not seeking re-election, it creates a vacancy at assistant secretary. The nominees are former Monaghan Chairman and Secretary Michael Burns (Castleblayney), who has been involved with the Central Competitions Control Committee (CCCC), the National Fixtures Planning Committee and the recent fixtures forum in Monaghan; Aughnamullen secretary Anita Finnegan, who has served on the county juvenile and minor boards; and John P Graham.
There is a contest for the places as Ulster Council delegates, as five people have been nominated for the two places. John Connolly of Currin, who took the Ulster council place last year, having previously served five years as chairman, is up for re-election, while John P Graham steps down under the five-year rule. The other nominees are all experienced delegates, including Currin county-board delegate and former county chairman Aidan Quigley and Latton Chairman Séamus Coyle, who was vice-chairman until last year when he was defeated by Paul Curran in the vote for the chairman’s job. Also in the running are Drumhowan’s Gerry Duffy, who has previously served on the county board, including as Secretary of the Hearings Committee this year, as well as Fergal O’Hanlon’s Chairman Brendan McKenna, who has been involved with the Monaghan CCC.

Full report in the Northern Standard

Comments are closed.