Treble delight for Inniskeen

5 November 2010 No Comments by The Northern Standard


Inniskeen’s dream year continued when they completed a clean sweep of the Monaghan senior hurling titles with a three-point win over Truagh in the Reserve Hurling League Final at Sarsfield Park, Aughnamullen last Sunday.

It was the second year in a row that the Grattans had defeated Truagh in the final and like last year, it was Truagh’s finishing that let them down as they hit 15 wides.

The north-Monaghan men led by a point inside the last five minutes, but a goal from Séamus Shevlin and a couple of excellent long-range frees by Paul Meegan led Inniskeen to another victory, just a week after they won the Ulster Junior Hurling Championship

Paul Meegan, TJ Byrne, Paddy Dooley, Martin Murphy and Philip Brooks (who finished the game despite suffering a shoulder injury in the second half) played central roles for Inniskeen, while Kieran, Ryan, Daniel and Proinsias McKenna and Pat O’Connell worked hard throughout for Truagh.

Pat O’Connell opened the scoring with a point from play after three minutes and he doubled Truagh’s lead when he tapped over from a 25-metre following a foul on Ryan McKenna. O’Connell converted a ’65 to make it three-nil and he went close to extending his side’s advantage when he hit the upright from a free. Kieran McKenna linked-up with John McAnespie to hit Truagh’s fourth point, before Inniskeen finally got off the mark when David McGahon diverted a Martin Murphy shot over the bar.

McGahon blazed another chance wide after a Murphy centre, before a foul on Murphy allowed McGahon to double his tally from a 20-metre free. John McAnespie got a point back for Truagh, but McGahon hit a fine score over his shoulder. Gerard Ruddy added a point for Inniskeen after he made a fine catch from a high ball in by Gavin Dooley and after McGahon tapped over from a 20-metre free for a foul on Ruddy, the sides were level at half-time at 0-4 apiece.

Comments are closed.