15 December 2016 No Comments by The Northern Standard

Twenty-four-year-old Monaghan rally driver Josh Moffett was announced as the winner of the prestigious Billy Coleman Award at the Motorsport Ireland Award Ceremony in Dublin on Tuesday evening last.

Josh is pictured accepting the trophy, which marks him out as the Young Rally Driver of the Year, from fellow Monaghan man and Motorsport Ireland President Martin McKenna from Tydavnet.

Josh was nominated on the back of some outstanding performances in a year which saw him excel in the Irish Tarmac Championship, and secure his first international win at the Cork 20 Rally.

As part of the award he will receive support to the value of €50,000 for the 2017 season.

Speaking at Tuesday night’s event, Martin McKenna stated: “Every year it becomes harder for the selection panels to choose the winners of the various categories. The pool of very talented and skilled drivers is growing each season and, alongside our partners in Sport Ireland, we are very excited about the future for the sport.

“This year’s recipients have a great opportunity to further their careers, which I hope they can take advantage of.

“The awards are internationally recognised and many of the previous winners have gone on to compete at the highest level of their chosen discipline abroad.

“Craig Breen, who won the Billy Coleman in 2009, is now on the WRC circuit as a works driver with Citroen, while a former Sexton Trophy winner, Niall Murray, went on to break all sorts of records in Formula Ford both in Ireland and the UK this year.

“We launched the Motorsport Team Ireland programme in February of this year to help talented drivers progress in the sport. Judging by the progress they are making and the winners here today, the future of Irish motorsport is very positive.”

Comments are closed.