21 January 2016 No Comments by The Northern Standard

Teach na nDaoine, Monaghan was the centre of great activity on Sunday as Monaghan County Athletic Board held their Juvenile Development Shield Races as well as the County 5K which was the final Race in the County Distance League. This was a new venue for County Monaghan Road Races and Eddie OGara had laid out an excellent course which took in the roads round Teach na nDaoine as well as the Greenway and Rossmore Park. For both Juvenile and Adult Races there was a mixture of running that was easy at times and challenging at other times. Thanks to all the clubs who supported the event, to the Management of Teach na nDaoine for the use of their centre for registration, Refreshments and presentation of awards, to the members of the Red Cross, to Coilte and above all to Eddie O Gara for his work in mapping out the course.


Girls Under 10 -400mrs.

  1. Daisy Walker, Phoenix.
  2. Eyna Silkena, St Gerards.
  3. Keava O Neill, Phoenix.
  4. Michaela Grew, Phoenix.
  5. Ella Connolly, Glaslough.
  6. Ava Calleary, Glaslough.
  7. Maeva Smyth, Carrick Aces.
  8. Caoimhe Mc Kenna, Phoenix.


  1. Phoenix A
  2. Phoenix B.

Boys Under 10 – 400mrs/

  1. Eoin Sheridian, Phoenix.
  2. Patrick Keenan, Phoenix,
  3. Eoin Mc Caul, Glaslough.
  4. Darren Mc Anespie, Glaslough.
  5. Shay Lambe, Phoenix.
  6. Callum Ross, Glaslough.


  1. Phoenix.
  2. Glaslough.

Girls Under 12 – 800mrs.

  1. Amy Jo Kierans, Oriel.
  2. Laura Mc Farland, Oriel.
  3. Holly Agnew, Clones.
  4. Dervla Keenan, Phoenix.
  5. Aoibheann Mc Cormack, Glaslough.
  6. Casy Mc Nee, Clones.
  7. Ava Mc Nally, Clones.
  8. Ellen Mc Donald, Phoenix.


  1. Clones a.
  2. Phoenix.
  3. Clones B.

Boys Under 12 – 800mrs.

  1. Eoghan Mc Farland, Oriel.
  2. David Duffy, Glaslough.
  3. Senan Cudden, Phoenix.
  4. Marc Maguire, Clones.
  5. Tom Doherty, Phoenix.
  6. Eodhran Smith,, Clones.
  7. Thomas Mulhal, Clones.
  8. Caolan Mc Kenna, Phoenix.


  1. Phoenix.
  2. Clones.

Girls Under 14-1000mrs.

  1. Ava Ross, Glaslough.
  2. Yasmin O Leary, Oriel.
  3. Aoife Fox, Carrick Aces.
  4. Rachel Calleary, Glaslough.
  5. Saoirse Mc Court, Carrick Aces.
  6. Tilly Mc Keown, Armagh.
  7. Megan Agnew, Clones.
  8. Gonna Barry, Phoenix.


  1. Glaslough.
  2. Clones.

Boys Under 14-1000mrs.

  1. Cian Conway, Phoenix.
  2. Oran Maguire, Phoenix.
  3. Aaron Hall, Clones.
  4. James Curley, Phoenix.
  5. Ewan Mc Nally, Clones.
  6. Elliot Bond, Phoenix.


  1. Phoenix.

Girls Under 16-2000mrs.

  1. Coimhe O Hanlon, Phoenix.
  2. Caoimhe Cudden.
  3. Grainne Clerkin, Clones.
  4. Sorcha O Neill, Phoenix,.
  5. Robyn Bond Phoenix.
  6. Kendra Fagan, Phoenix.


  1. Phoenix.

Boys Under 16 – 2000mrs.

  1. Oisin Fagan, Phoenix.
  2. Andrew Mc Kenna, Glaslough.
  3. Conor Devlin, Phoenix.

The Development Shield.

  1. Phoenix.
  2. Clones.
  3. Glaslough.
  4. Oriel.
  5. Aces.

Distance League County 5K.

Junior Ladies.

  1. Niamh Malone, Phoenix.
  2. Emma Geary, Glaslough.
  3. Rahel Rengili, Phoenix.

Junior Men.

  1. Ultan O Rourke, Phoenix.
  2. Conor Maguire, Phoenix.
  3. Paul Peppard, Phoenix.

Over 35 Ladies.

  1. Elaine Walls, Carrick Aces.
  2. Eithne Mc Gorman, Carrick aces.
  3. Sinead Doherty, Wetlands.

Over 40 Men.

  1. John Whelan, Shercock.
  2. Raymond Smith, Carrick Aces.
  3. Alan Clarke, Blayney Rockets.

Senior Ladies.

  1. Eilis Linden, Carrick Aces.
  2. Leah Barry, Phoenix.
  3. Paula Mc Dermott, Clones.

Senior Men.

  1. Martin Quinn, Dunller.
  2. Shane Brady, Clones.
  3. Christopher Mc Guirk, Glaslough.

All-Ireland Cross-country at Dundalk.

Dundalk will be the venue on Sunday for the Athletics Ireland Juvenile “B” Cross-country, Intermediate Cross-country and Masters Cross-country. County Monaghan will be represented by teams in the Masters Cross-country events.

The Ladies Team will be:

Rose Lambe, Carrick Aces.

Elaine Wall, Carrick Aces.

Emer Mc Kenna, Phoenix.

Eithne Mc Gorman, Carrick, aces.

Joanne Clarke, Carrick Aces.

Erin Smith, Carrick Aces.

Brenda Barry, Phoenix.

Audrey Harraghy, Phoenix.

The Men’s Team will be :

Raymond Smith, Carrick Aces.

Alan Clarke, Blayney Rockets.

Gregory Murphy, Clones.

Patrick Cassidy, Glaslough.

Gordan Mc Ardle, Carrick Aces.

Eddie O Gara, Phoenix.

Alo Grew, Phoenix.

Paddy Murray, Monaghan town Runners.

Mark Macklin, Monaghan Town Runners.

Aidan Campbell, Blayney Rockets.

Jim Connolly, Carrick Aces,

Patrick Cassidy, Carrick aces.

Seamus Ward, Carrick Aces.

Patrick Mc Cabe, Carrick Aces.

As well as the Master Ladies and Men County Monaghan Clubs will have athletes taking part in the Juvenile “B” cross-country championships. We wish all the County Monaghan Athletes the best of luck on Sunday at Dundalk.


Comments are closed.