5 June 2014 No Comments by The Northern Standard

AVIVA STADIUM was the venue on Wednesday last for the second consecutive time for the Aviva Health FAI Primary School 5’s National Finals. Ireland’s stars of the future entertained crowds in the stadium as the biggest and best competition in the 2014 primary school’s soccer calendar came to its climax.

SCOIL MHUIRE NA mBUACHAILLI NS CASTLEBLAYNEY became the first Monaghan side ever to be crowned All Ireland Champions winning the Medium Schools Section amidst unbelievable scenes of joy. Despite losing to 2-1 to Munster Champions Two Mile Borris from Tipperary, wins against Leinster Champions Monastry NS from Ardee and Connaught Champions Maree NS from Galway gave the Monaghan School the title on goal difference. Indeed the Monaghan and Ulster Champions scored a remarkable seventeen goals and just conceding seven. Joshua Moen was awarded the Player of the section netting eleven goals of his sides total.

School Principal and Manager, former Monaghan GAA Stalwart Eamon Mc Eneaney was obviously overjoyed with the success, “I am absolutely thrilled that the lads are bringing an All Ireland back to the School”. The former Monaghan Manager went on to say “ We have a great ethos and tradition of giving all our pupils the opportunity to play different sports and I have been bringing teams to this competition for over twenty years and to finally be crowned All Ireland Champions in the Aviva Stadium is a truly special feeling, we came close in 2002, but to finally claim the ultimate prize is fantastic and all the lads were outstanding today.” The history making team were of Ciaran Duffy, Conor Mulligan, Joey Hughes, Joshua Hughes, Gearoid Coyle, Rory Mc Glynn, Conor Rice and Dean Rooney were deservedly given a heroes welcome when arriving back in the town on Wednesday evening. Blaney Town Council also honoured the new All Ireland Champions at their last ever meeting on Thursday last.

St Joseph Boys NS Carrickmacross also represented Monaghan and Ulster with pride finishing fourth in the Large Schools Section, which included schools from Galway, Carlow and Cork. The Carrick lads came up against stiff opposition on the day and can be very proud of their achievements on the day.

The Road to the Aviva began in March as 18,208 children in 1,038 primary schools nationwide competed in county and regional qualifiers and then on to Provincial Finals before the 160 players made it to yesterday’s finals at the Stadium.

From their arrival through the player’s entrance, to the dressing rooms, to the top notch pitch, the kid’s enjoyed the same VIP treatment as their international heroes thanks to Aviva Health. The event was a family fun day focused on providing participants and spectators with huge excitement and entertainment, making it a day to remember for all involved.

The teams and families were entertained by a Samba band on the day along with DJ Dara Quilty from Spin 103.8, mascots for each province and some face painting for the crowds in the Stadium. 

Everyone’s a winner in this competition, with all of the participants receiving an Umbro kit, participation certificate and Aviva Health commemorative medal for their participation in this year’s National Finals. The finals catered for different sized schools, “A” Schools and Girls “A” Schools for small sized schools. Medium sized schools featured in the “B” Schools section, and finally “C” Schools accommodated the large schools section.

160 participants from 15 counties competed to be crowned  Aviva Health FAI Primary Schools All Ireland champions last week, with Roscommon, Monaghan, Galway, Donegal and Dublin emerging as overall winners.

Schools from Roscommon (2), Limerick (2), Donegal (2), Galway (2), Monaghan (2), Meath (1), Cavan (1), Westmeath (1), Mayo (1), Tipperary (1), Louth (1), Tipperary (1), Dublin (1), Carlow (1) and Cork (1) fought it out in their respective categories for this prestigious title

B’ Schools
As already stated Scoil Mhuire na mBuachaillí, Castleblaney, Monaghan snatched the ‘B’ Schools Section title this season following a highly competitive encounter. Eamon McEneaney’s crew won the battle on goal difference as themselves, Scoil Mochaomhog Naofa, Two Mile Borris and Monastery NS, Ardee all finished level on four points.

The three teams enjoyed two wins from three with one defeat each however the strike force was on the side of the Ulster players as they scored 17 goals in three games only conceding 7.

The icing was on the cake for the Castleblayney School as Joshua Mone, Scoil Mhuire na mBuachaillí, Castleblaney, Monaghan was named Player of the Tournament for Section ‘B’.

Scoil Mhuire na mBuachaillí, Castleblaney, Monaghan (ULSTER): Ciaran Duffy, Conor Mulligan, Joseph Hughes, Joshua Mone, Gearóid Coyle, Rory Mc Glynn, Conor Rice, Dean Rooney
Principal: Eamon Mc Eneaney & Mentor: Mary Shankey
Winner: Scoil Mhuire na mBuachaillí, Castleblaney, Monaghan
Runner Up:  Scoil Mochaomhog Naofa, Two Mile Borries, Thurles, Tipperary
Third: Monastery NS, Ardee, Louth
Fourth: Maree NS, Galway
Player of the Tournament: Joshua Mone, Scoil Mhuire na mBuachaillí, Castleblaney, Monaghan
“C” Schools:
St. Joseph’s NS, Carrickmacross, Monaghan (ULSTER): Daire Povall, Sean McKenna, Andrew Moore, Conor Capaldi, Jamie Coleman (Capt), Oisín O’Hanlon, Arturs Amolins, Deividas Guiskis
Teachers: Jimmy Lacey & Paul Fitzpatrick.
Winner: St. Patrick’s NS, Galway
Runner Up: Bishop Foley NS, Carlow
Third: St. Anthony’s NS, Ballinlough, Cork.
Fourth: St. Joseph’s NS, Carrickmacross, Monaghan.

Comments are closed.