13 September 2013 No Comments by The Northern Standard

Last Friday night Monaghan Phoenix Athletic Club hosted the annual running of the Credit Union Streets of Monaghan 5k. The event proved to be a huge success, attracting competitors from all over Ireland.

The event was won by Dara Green of Dunleer who completed the course in a superb time of 15:05. Conor Duffy of Glaslough Harriers ran a great race to finish in 2nd followed closely by Paul Gleeson. In the ladies race the winner was Denise Toner of Clones who completed the 2 lap course in 18:06. Ann Linden of Carrick Aces finished 2nd with Rosemary Lambe finishing 3rd. As part of the event there was also a juvenile race for athletes aged under 16. This proved to be a very popular event once again with over 70 entrants. First home on the boys side was Darragh Drury of Shercock, while the first lady home was Edel Monaghan of Enniskillen.

The event would not have been possible without the support and assistance of various entities throughout Monaghan for which we are very grateful. We would like to thank Monaghan Credit Union for the continued support of the event as title sponsors. Without the use of the facilities in St Louis Convent the race would not be possible and therefore we thank Vera O’Brien for the use of the grounds, and also Martin Callan for his assistance on the night. We thanks the Gardaí for their assistance in ensuring a safe event, and also Michael Gissane and his team for providing the first aid. We thank Peter McKenna who again provided the timing clock and gantry. All the post-race food was provided by the parents of our juvenile members and we thanks them for their support. Finally we thank all the parents, officials, helpers and friends without whom the event would not have been possible.

Mens Senior
Dara Greene Dunleer 15:05
Conor Duffy Glaslough Harriers 15:49
Paul Gleeson Clones AC 16:00

Ladies Senior
Denise Toner Clones 18:06
Ann Linden Carrick Aces 18:59
Rosemary Lambe Armagh AC 19:49

Ladies V1
Emer Smith Bailieboro 20:42
Emer McKenna Monaghan Phoenix 21:35

Ladies V2
Sandra Donehy Dunleer 21:10
Elaine Smith Bailieboro 21:13

Ladies V3
Audrey Harraghy MTR 22:47
Regina Corrigan N/A 25:20

Ladies V4
Maeve McCabe N/A 25:53

Ladies V5
Nuala Reilly Drogheda and District 21:37
Mary Deeney N/A 24:44

Mens Junior
Shane Brady Clones AC 17:15
Patrick Murphy Glaslough Harriers 17:33

Mens V2
Philip Smith Bailieboro 16:57
Brendan Murphy Blaney Rockets 19:39

Mens V3
David O’Connell Bohermeen 16:06
Kieran Cosgrove Bailieboro 17:29

Mens V4
Mark Macklin Muckno Tri 19:00
Gerard Toal Monaghan Phoenix 20:52

Mens V5
Pat Holland N/A 23:25

Mens V6
Conor Cooney Drogheda and District 20:22
Richard Duffy NE Runners 21:45

Boys U.16
1. Darragh Drury Shercock
2. Donal Lynam Enniskillen
3. Sean McElwaine Clones AC

Boys U. 14
1. Sean McKenna N/A
2. Lorcan O’Rourke Monaghan Phoenix
3. TJ Donehy Dunleer

Boys U. 12
1. Tiernan O’Rourke Monaghan Phoenix
2. Liam Conway Monaghan Phoenix
3. Mike Bradley Monaghan Phoenix

Girls U. 16
1. Edel Monaghan Enniskillen
2. Niamh Malone Monaghan Phoenix
3. Celine Nally Monaghan Phoenix

Girls U. 14
1. Caoimhe O’Hanlon Monaghan Phoenix
2. Aine McElwaine Monaghan Phoenix
3. Caoimhe Cudden Monaghan Phoenix

Girls U. 12
1. Emma Glynn Shercock AC
2. Emma McElvaney N/A
3. EllieRose Ward Shercock AC

no images were found

Comments are closed.