7 June 2013 No Comments by The Northern Standard

The local political landscape of Co Monaghan is set to undergo significant change under new recommendations announced last week.

The four traditional geographical boundaries for local political purposes – North Monaghan, Mid-Monaghan, Clones and South Monaghan – are to be replaced by three divisions for the 2014 local government elections, when radical reforms introduced by Minister for the Environment Phil Hogan will see the abolition of the county’s five Town Councils and a reduction in the membership of Monaghan Co Council by two to eighteen councillors.

Three new Municipal Districts will each elect six Co Council members, who will represent Monaghan; Carrickmacross and Castleblayney; and Clones and Ballybay.

Although yet to be formally ratified by the Oireachtas, the new proposals – contained in the report of the Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee – were being regarded as a “done deal” by members and officials of Monaghan Co Council when they met on Tuesday.

Discussion of the changes at the Council’s June meeting centred on the implications for ratepayers when the county’s five urban locations, where the rate on valuation was previously set by Town Councillors, fall under the aegis of the Co Council for rating purposes from 2015 (see below).

At present the Carrickmacross or South Monaghan Electoral Area has five Co Council members and is also served by Carrickmacross Town Council. The Castleblayney or Mid-Monaghan area elects four Co Councillors and also encompasses the Castleblayney and Ballybay town authorities. There are four Co Councillors and a town council in …

Comments are closed.