11 January 2013 No Comments by The Northern Standard

There were mixed fortunes for the Monaghan players on duty with college teams last Sunday, when DCU and IT Sligo both had strong Monaghan representations.
DCU came from six points down to draw with Wicklow in their O’Byrne Cup opener, with four Monaghan men involved. Currin forward Jack McCarron kicked 1-2 from play, while Aughnamullen’s Pete Dooney also kicked a point and big Carrickmacross man Peter O’Hanlon lined out at midfield. Scotstown attacker Shane Carey also came on for the Dublin side, who also have Clontibret defender Conor Boyle in their panel.
Half of the IT Sligo defence in their FBD League defeat against the Sligo county team was made up of Monaghan players in Darren McKernan (Emyvale), Brian McQuaid (Seán McDermotts) and Niall Hahessy (Monaghan Harps), with another Harps man, Gary White, captaining the team from midfield.
Colin Walshe was captain for DIT’s O’Byrne Cup win over Wexford, but it was a bittersweet win for the Doohamlet back, who was sent off on the hour-mark.
Meanwhile, Sam Dooney missed out on UUJ’s McKenna Cup loss to Antrim.

Kerry were the most comprehensive winners of the first weekend of 2013 when they crushed IT Tralee in the McGrath Cup, with Paul Geaney (2-4) and Patrick Curtin (1-5) leading the way, while Donncha O’Connor got the only goal of Cork’s win over Cork IT and Clare started life under Mick O’Dwyer with a comprehensive defeat of Limerick IT.
Newcomers Robert McCarthy and Paddy Quinn were among the goal-scorers in Dublin’s seven-point O’Byrne Cup win in Carlow, while Kildare eased past Carlow IT and Westmeath cruised to victory against Athlone IT.
Niall McNamee kicked eight points to lead Offaly past Laois, while Meath had a similarly narrow win in Longford and Louth saw off UCD, with Darren Clarke (1-7) and Jim McEneaney on form up front.
In the Connacht FBD League, Galway had ten points to spare on NUI Galway and Leitrim emerged from a low-scoring battle against Roscommon with a one-point win.

Comments are closed.