Motor Sport: Mackarel Crowned Club Champion

11 December 2010 No Comments by The Northern Standard

Despite the adverse conditions throughout the country, the annual Monaghan Motor Club Dinner Dance and Presentation of Awards went ahead as planned on Saturday night last with over 100 people attending. The main event of the evening was the presentation of the Traders Trophy to the overall club champion for 2010, Andy Mackarel. The competition for this prestigious award is based on total points scored for overall placings in all club events throughout the year. These include autotesting, navigation trials, autocrossing and stages rallying. Andy has now won this award on 9 occasions, which is a club record.
A special feature of the evening was the presentation of the Gerry MacNamara Memorial Award. This perpetual cup will be awarded annually to the person who has made the most outstanding contribution to the club. It was fitting then that the inaugural award should go to Ronnie Hawe. As the Club Chairman Paul Hughes put it: “To say that the award was well-merited by Ronnie is the ultimate understatement”. The club was honoured to have Gerry’s son Darra present to make the presentation.
Andy Mackarel and Liam Higgins were presented with the Gary Nesbitt Memorial Award as navigation champions.

Comments are closed.